Wednesday 2nd August 2017

Network Backbone Investigation still ongoing...

Quick status update:

  • A member linecard of our backbone switch unexpectedly rebooted at 5:25 UTC (7:25 CEST)
  • The master routing service unintentionally switched over to the backup routing engine
  • OSPF and BGP sessions between our core switch and our edge routers were disrupted, which led to a total network routing outage
  • As far as we currently know, network switching was only partly affected
  • Network routing functionality recovered automatically at 5:30 UTC (7:30 CEST)

Root cause analysis is still in progress, further updates will follow.